Incident at Himalaya Club on 17th April 2014 From: Jack Warner Member of

Published on by Ilpttr

Incident at Himalaya Club on 17th April 2014 From: Jack Warner Member of Parliament and Political Leader of the Independent Liberal Party To: Minister of National Security Date: 18th April 2014 Subject: Incident at Himalaya Club on 17th April 2014 Sir, Around 7.45pm yesterday, Thursday 17th April 2014 I arrived at the Himalaya Club, San Juan with my security detail. I was attending a meeting held by “Barrington “Skippy” Thomas, a United National Congress activist and fired Executive Director of Policy Outreach and Strategy in the Ministry of the People and Community Development. This meeting was advertised on the airways for over the past week or more, inviting all political leaders et al to attend. Upon my arrival I saw a group of approximately 30 apparently agitated persons on the eastern side of the Himalaya Club compound. They held cardboard paper with various writings in their hands. Approximately 10 minutes after my arrival Mr Thomas arrived. My security detail and I alighted from my vehicle and proceeded to the reception area where I met with Skippy and greeted him. The reception area is about three hundred feet by three hundred feet, with no wall on the southern side (back) and the eastern side, therefore access can be gained easily. Mr Thomas then went to the stage and began the proceedings with the singing of the National Anthem and a word of prayer. In no more than fifteen seconds after he started speaking the group of persons who were on the eastern side when I arrived came to the back of the reception area with loud ruckus chants, displaying their placards and doing their utmost to frustrate Mr Thomas from speaking. Mr. Thomas continued with his agenda. I observed that there were no police officers present. After a short while the mob then made their way through the gathering and settled in the middle of the area and continued their loud chants. My security detail by this time had taken strategic positions around me. My safety did feel compromise though; and this was the first time in history I witnessed such political interference and aggression by another party's supporters at a political meeting. Although I had my security detail I was especially concerned for those attending the function, including members of my executive - for they were exposed and vulnerable to whatever behaviour the mob would embark upon if they felt so inclined. The mob remained in the middle of the hall for a short period as well and then made their way to the very front of the reception area, right under the stage where Barrington was making his representations. They continued with their loud, angry and violent chants at Mr. Thomas. They then proceeded onto the stage where Mr. Thomas was speaking and surrounded him with their chants and placards. Some came within mere inches of him, screaming and taunting him. Barrington displayed immense bravado but it is with great grit and determination that he continued to give his speech. Members of my security detail then made their way to the stage and were able to tactically remove the mob from off the stage. They returned to the front of the area and continued their chanting for the entire hour and half that Mr. Thomas gave his speech. After some time they mixed with the listeners and occasionally created hostility between themselves and the gathering. Around 9.00pm two female police officers arrived at the venue but they did nothing to quell the situation, I am of the opinion that they could have done nothing actually, because they very vastly outnumbered against the disrupters. Further, about 9.30, a mere five minutes before the meeting ended, Police Officers in tactical wear arrived at the venue.That was when the mob quieted somewhat. Notwithstanding that, Mr Barrington's address ended around 9.35pm. I thank God that everyone appeared to leave the venue at the completion of the meeting in physical safety including Mr Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj and Mr David Abdulah, Political leader of the MSJ Although the incident was more than what I expected and was very alarming, I held my ground and I listened to Mr. Barrington “Skippy” Thomas address. Having heard him it is quite clear that the mob was sent to the proceedings to disrupt the proceedings for fear of what Mr. Thomas would disclose to the public. Also, it is my opinion that they were only able to do what they did because of the absence of law enforcement officers. Had there been officers present they could not conduct themselves in the manner they especially did. It is also informative to note that, at the end of the meeting, i saw the members of the mob assembled in a corner and being paid by a Coordinator of the URP whose name I have.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post